OECD in a nutshell

The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) was created in 1961 as the successor of the Organization for European Economic Cooperation (OEEC). The founding twenty Member States’ aim was to create cooperation in order to help governments foster prosperity and fight poverty through economic growth and financial stability with the extension of the labor market. OECD’s work is based on the mutual studies and projects performed by Member States.

The Organization has currently 34 Member States. Its structure is composed of the Council, the Secretariat and the Committees. Hungary signed the Convention on OECD in 1991 and became a Member State in 1996.

Hungary celebrates its 20th anniversary of membership of OECD this year. At this occasion we hold the position of Vice-Chair together with Japan and Finland with the presidency of Chile on the Ministerial Council Meeting.